Find Martial Arts Schools

30,735 Dojos and growing
Helping people find Dojo since 2004
Currently online: 1426 Visitors

Follow dojos.info on FacebookFollow dojos.info on Twitter

Reviews of Integrated Kung Fu Academy

This page shows Reviews & Testimonials of Integrated Kung Fu Academy in Media, PA. 35 Reviewer rated Integrated Kung Fu Academy as Very Good. Read detailed reviews below.

If you are familiar with this school, please share your experience and help your local Martial Arts community.

Submit your Review

Average Rating: Very Good (35 Reviews)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent

34 out of 35 Reviewer recommended Integrated Kung Fu Academy.

(4 of 4 People found this review helpful)

The Best Martial Arts School

Oct 27 2015 by Dominick (Active Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Sifu Tom incorporates a real-world and comprehensive approach to training and instruction in integrated martial arts. His years of practical and professional experience are evident in his style of instruction. He takes the time to review the history and application of different styles and then incorporates the best and most effective techniques empowering his students to achieve a level of understanding, readiness and confidence, in case needed in a lifesaving situation.

I have trained at different martial arts schools and have never experienced this type of approach. I highly recommend if you are interested in self-defense, for yourself or a loved one, that there is no friendlier school and better instructor than Sifu Tom!


(4 of 4 People found this review helpful)

This school is the real deal!

Oct 21 2015 by Sean O (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

This school is the real deal especially if you have tried other so called traditional schools. Sifu Tom is an excellent martial artist as well as teacher. If you are not grasping a principle or technique he is very patient and never condescending . great overall vibe at class. friendly helpful fellow students. A fun class but also one where you feel good about putting some hard work in. I have to some other schools but this is the best by far. You will get in great shape while. learning real world principles that work. Great folks, great training!


(5 of 5 People found this review helpful)

Best Kung Fu Academy

Jan 12 2015 by Cam (Former Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I had such an amazing experience in this Kung fu class. I learned so much from SiFu Tom, he's a hands on type of SiFu & he gets everyone involved in his classes. He also works people to the best of their abilities & bring out the best in everyone.


(5 of 5 People found this review helpful)

Terrific learning experience for all ages and skill levels

Jan 07 2015 by Paula (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Sifu Tom Lugo is very skilled at providing meaningful training for all levels of experience in the same class. He is able to work with people who have no martial arts training and seamlessly integrate them into a class with people with quite a bit of experience and have everyone learning something useful for their level.

Sifu Tom is excellent at explaining the body mechanics of what he is teaching (why it works) and keeping everything very practical. He makes sure students have lots of opportunities to practice and develop confidence.

I have learned many skills in class with Sifu Tom and my fellow students that I would never have envisioned myself doing and I am very proud to be his student. We always work HARD, learn useful information and techniques and we always have fun.

This is a great school for martial arts training and I highly recommend it.


(5 of 5 People found this review helpful)

An Unique and Integrated Approach to Kung Fu

Jan 06 2015 by Mary (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Sifu Tom Lugo provides a unique and integrated approach to learning Kung Fu through his teaching of Zonghe Quanfa Kung Fu. The classes are provided in a fun and collaborative environment where the lessons are customized to your ability and the difficulty progresses only when you are ready. Convenient evening class schedules ensure that even students with demanding work schedules can be accommodated.

I had no prior experience or martial arts training prior to joining Sifu Lugo. Over the course of the last year I have learned many practical self-defense tactics, been trained in the use of various weapons and received instruction in mediation techniques. Sifu Lugo has the utmost patience working with students new to the practice of martial arts and I never once felt intimidated or out of place under his instruction.

I highly recommend Sifu Tom Lugo’s classes as a means to gain practical, real world self-defense and martial arts skills, learn relaxation techniques and provide a unique and fun cross training program.

Your first lesson is free so please join us and see for yourself.


(6 of 6 People found this review helpful)

Amazing Martial Arts With More Value than the Competition!

Jan 05 2015 by K Smith (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Though there is a common stereotype of martial arts being useless in a real fighting scenario, whether professional or self defense, Sifu Tom Lugo shows that this is definitely not true! The school itself is a community of martial artists who respect each other as well as their instructor and their art(s). The classes are comfortable and friendly, with no hierarchy among the students and more friendly faces than you'd find at most other schools. Still, the art he teaches is no less incredible, as Sifu Tom Lugo shows that kung fun, though it can be eccentric, is definitely a great wealth of knowledge surpassing the realm of martial arts. The classes, even for those who are not very athletic, are well worth the time and effort, as if nothing else, you will walk away more confident and with a nice workout.


(5 of 5 People found this review helpful)

A Travelling Ronin's Review

Jan 09 2014 by Travelling Ronin (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I have known Tom Lugo for over five years and he is one of the most impressive martial arts instructors I have ever met. I have the opportunity to travel around the globe and meet with different martial artists and train with them. However, when you train with Sifu Lugo you gain access to top quality training and school that is intent on bettering itself. I have had the privilege of watching many of Sifu Lugo's students develop and seen the continual development that they show. Every time I show up they have gotten better and there are new faces eager to learn.

Whether it is sparring, forms or weapons Sifu Lugo's school is getting better and better. But don't take my word for it just go look around the Philadelphia Martial Arts scene. You will find Sifu Lugo and his crew in tournaments winning medals, acting in independent films or producing their our content for Youtube. Integrated Kung Fu Academy consistently puts themselves on the line demonstrating the effectiveness of their art but also constantly learning and listening to improve.

I highly suggest you attend a class.

Martin "Travelling Ronin" Fransham

http://travellingronin.blogspot.ca/


(7 of 7 People found this review helpful)

Outstanding Instruction!

Jul 29 2013 by Sifu Chris (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Sifu Tom is an excellent teacher. He is very humble and a great communicator. He works well with each individual student and explains how to use the techniques practiced extremely well. I've traveled throughout the U.S., and have visited a number of schools as well as judged in large tournaments. Sifu Tom is the real deal, and one of the top martial artists I've had the fortune to see and work with in person.


(6 of 6 People found this review helpful)

Gets right to the point!

Jul 13 2013 by Chris A. (Former Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

Sifu Tom is like a human Internet when it comes to martial arts. He has created a highly effective form in which all of the applications you will learn come from. What I like about his style is that it is very direct and to the point....and it will hurt and disorient any potential attackers. They say a young fighter enjoys a drawn out and creative fight, but an older fighter ends the fight with one strike,Sifu Tom 's style is a nice balance and choice of the two. I have 6 years experience training in a few different styles of kung fu. I recommend Sifu Tom to guide you through all the hard work and inner challenges that come with learning good kung fu...enjoy yourself! Chris A.


(7 of 7 People found this review helpful)

Top Quality Martial Arts School

May 14 2013 by Nick (Active Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Integrated Kung Fu Academy is a great school for all ages. Three members of our family attend the school. Sifu Tom has an extremely effective method of training all levels of students. His classes are both physically and mentally enlightening. All of the students are extremely friendly and are always willing to help classmates achieve milestones.


(8 of 8 People found this review helpful)

The best in my opinion!

May 07 2013 by J German (Parent of a Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My 8 year old son has been going here since he was 5 and I can say without reservation that he loves it.

Sifu Tom Lugo is an incredible athlete, but the most important thing to me is he is dedicated to the kids.

My son is a more confident and disciplined person since he started at Integrated Kung Fu Academy. I have recommended them to many friends and family. Your child is truly going to love it and will be motivated to go. There has not been a single time that my son has wanted to miss a class, he genuinely loves it!

You would be lucky to have your child learn from Sifu Tom or any of the other incredible professionals that actually love kids and know how to establish relationships with each one based on mutual respect.


(8 of 8 People found this review helpful)

An excellent sifu

Feb 08 2013 by Rae' (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I have been taking martial arts on and off for 15 years. Sifu Tom is the most qualified martial artist that I have ever had the pleasure of training under. Have learned more in my 2 years of being there than in my entire martial arts career. He takes the most efficient techniques and blends them into a master form of kung fu. Thank you for diligence and hard work, Sifu. The pleasure is all mine.


(7 of 7 People found this review helpful)

Great Experience

Dec 13 2012 by Rob D (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

This school and learning under Sifu Tom Lugo has been an incredible experience for my children and myself.. I have boxed and taken martial arts for over 25 years and this has been the most comfortable, educational, rewarding and family like training i have ever been part of. We are not just standing in a line throwing punces in the air, well dressed paying tons of money to say we achieved a specific colored belt... We learn and put everything that we do to live actions. Sifu Tom Lugo's knowledge and experience far exceeds what i was expecting when signing my childen up.. I hope you consider IKFA for your training..


(8 of 8 People found this review helpful)

Great classes great teacher!

Dec 10 2012 by T Le (Former Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Sufi lugo is one of the friendliest people you will ever meet. That being said he has no problems teaching you "hands on" whether that means putting you in all of the locks, chokes, and throws first hand. It's all educational and safe and he will work with you no matter who you are. Just a great place to be!


(8 of 8 People found this review helpful)

Great children's class

Dec 10 2012 by Mom (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Very Good
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

My daughter really enjoys Sifu Tom's classes. She has learned very quickly, mostly due to the one on one attention she receives. I like that the focus is on self-defense and not on fighting for the sake of fighting. I also like that while respect and following direction is stressed as important, the atmosphere is of mutual respect. Sifu Tom is a strong, kind teacher...not a screaming drill sargeant.


(8 of 8 People found this review helpful)

Awesome, and Definitely Worth it!

Dec 06 2012 by K. (Active Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

Very comfortable class, with a real art behind the combat. It is just cool, definitely worth it and suggested to most anyone with interest in martial arts.


(10 of 10 People found this review helpful)

Unique and Effective Gong Fu

Dec 06 2012 by Black E Chan (Active Student with Less than 1 Month Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Very Good
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

A new style with authentic flavors is taught at this school, as Sifu Tom incorporates old with new. Every class is an excellent experience!


(9 of 9 People found this review helpful)

A great, fun, and nurturing place to learn Martial Arts.

Dec 06 2012 by Ambria (Active Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Very Good
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

Everyone should take classes! I have so much fun! Not to mention, its a great way to stay in shape. Its not too expensive. Its perfect.


(11 of 11 People found this review helpful)

Supremely knowledgeable with many genres of Martial Arts

Mar 21 2012 by Peter Thomson (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

After working with Sifu Tom as an instructor in American Kenpo, and studying under him at Integrated Kung Fu Academy, I have found him to be supremely knowledgeable with many genres of Martial Arts. Sifu Tom is a very enthusiastic instructor who chiefly values not only his art, but his students as well. Sifu Tom has proven to be extremely dedicated to the respect of the Martial Arts and the success of his pupils. Sifu Tom is able to tailor his classes to the various needs of his students. I can concur with my fellow class mates in saying that we have all benefited alot in the time that we has spent as students and disciples of Sifu Tom Lugo. I can personally attest to the fact that as a practitioner of the Martial Arts, I have found Sifu Tom's instructional methods to be very clear, concise and most importantly, informative and fun. We as students have all benefited immensely from Sifu Tom's teaching from his wisdom. Peter C. Thomson


(10 of 10 People found this review helpful)

Depth of knowledge

Mar 12 2012 by Martin Fransham (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I have had the pleasure of training with Sifu Tom Lugo and the Integrated Kung Fu Academy on several occasions. Not only has Sifu Tom been open and welcoming, he is a depth of knowledge. I have always walked away with something new!

-Martin Fransham

Senior Instructor, Wutan Canada


(11 of 11 People found this review helpful)

Lo mejor de lo mejor

Feb 21 2012 by Luis Abreu (Former Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Tommy mi primer maestro de Kung Fu, aunque la vida nos llevo por senderos diferentes tengo el honor y placer de llamarle mas que maestro... hermano Pian Tommy


(16 of 16 People found this review helpful)

A great atmosphere of learning real Kung Fu!

Sep 21 2011 by Manny G (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

My experience with this school has far exceeded my expectation. The classes are extremely fun and a great workout. Everyone is friendly and willing help each other. The teacher (Sifu Tom Lugo) has a well of knowledge about Kung Fu including other martial art styles such as Wing Chun, Jujitsu, Kempo, Wrestling etc. Unlike many schools, this dojo is very informal; Asking questions is encouraged. We learn moves and practice it with and on each other, which also allows us to meet new people. The aerobic exercises are amazing. If you're looking to lose weight, tone up and become more conditioned, this school will fulfill those needs. You will leave the class in better shape and knowing something you never knew. The price for these classes is extremely reasonable. I highly recommend this Dojo!


(15 of 15 People found this review helpful)

Easy to work hard

Sep 19 2011 by Shirl T (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Jamie and Tom are both so friendly and make their classes both easy to follow for newcomers, yet difficult for the more experienced members at the same time. They make working out easy!


(16 of 16 People found this review helpful)

Great class, great teacher, great team!

Sep 19 2011 by V Michos (Active Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

An exceptionally talented intructor that simply enjoys sharing with you his passion. After every class, mentally, physically, and spiritually,you defnitely feel alive.

By understanding each and every students' strengths and weaknesses, Tom drives us to overcome our fears, and embrace our self confidence. It's a great way to burn over 1000 calories, clear your mind of the everyday clutter, meet some great people, and just simply enjoy yourself!

Its not too often you gain the opportunity to train with a sifu master, for such a great price!


(15 of 15 People found this review helpful)

One of the best martial arts experience i have ever had the pleasure to be in!

Sep 17 2011 by T Rocha (Former Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

The teacher, Sifu Tom, is a great and highly trained master. He taught me a lot about self defense but he also taught me responsibility, and respect.


(15 of 15 People found this review helpful)

A great instructor with alot to offer

Sep 16 2011 by Rae (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Tom is a great and knowledgeable instructor. He is patient and clear explains every move and where it is applicable. This is a skill that I have not noticed in a lot of other martial arts schools that I have attended. Bottom line...Tom could teach kung fu to a blinded brain dead baboon.


(15 of 15 People found this review helpful)

Integrated Kung Fu & Kickboxing Academy

Sep 16 2011 by Ron Goninan, Master Instructor, White Crane Research Institute (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Sifu Tom Lugo is an exceptional Martial Artist and human being. He is a member of the China Combat Sports Association as am I and we are working together to promote the wonderful art the is Chinese Gongfu


(14 of 14 People found this review helpful)

This is a great school!

Sep 16 2011 by kungfukid (Active Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

Before i joined the integrated kung fu and kickboxing academy i had no training in martial arts at all. Although i've been in enrolled for only a few weeks, sifu lugo is a great teacher and i can honestly say i feel like i've been improving every week i go. The people there are so friendly and more than willing to go at your level with you. I would recommend this academy to anyone i know, thanks alot sifu!


(14 of 14 People found this review helpful)

It doesn't get any better...

Sep 16 2011 by Kelly R. (Former Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

Sifu Tom Lugo is honestly the BEST and most reputable teacher around. This program is really innovative in Martial Arts/Kung Fu. He teaches flawless execution and relays the philosophy and how to apply the techniques to real life situations.I noticed the negative review about references below and I believe there was a mistake because I looked at the website and it clearly states brown belt. I also checked with his Associations where he is a member - verified. As a student with Sifu Tom, I can honestly say I am proud to have him as a teacher.


(13 of 13 People found this review helpful)

Integrated Kung Fu and Kick Boxing Academy :D

Sep 16 2011 by B Buchanan (Active Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

This school has given me a lot in terms of confidence and means of self defense. Sifu Tom Lugo is like wikipedia for martial arts, there isn't a style that he isn;t familiar with. We cover so many ranges of combat that you are covered for any predicament you will happen to find yourself in.


(15 of 15 People found this review helpful)

Hands down the best...

Sep 16 2011 by Marlon Da Tiger (Active Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

This school is by far the best. I've been taking kung fu for six months. I'm more flexible, my endurance is up. Not only we learn forms and weapons. Sifu teaches us early martial application. He teaches its street applications and counters. In six months I have become more healthier and able to defend myself


(2 of 23 People found this review helpful)

Please check references.

May 11 2011 by Margaret S. (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Average
Other aspects:
Average
Recommended:
No!

The owner of this school is claiming on his website that he earned his second degree black belt in the summer of 2010. My children went to the school that he claims to have received that rank but when he was let go just earlier this year he was a second degree brown belt. I checked his references and they conflict with what he is claiming. Please make sure you do your own due diligence before you make any type of decision. I hope there is just a misunderstanding on my part.


(13 of 13 People found this review helpful)

Great instruction

Jan 21 2011 by Josue Barreto (Former Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I studied Choy Lay Fut Kung Fu under Shifu Tom Lugo when he had a Kwoon (school) in Isabela, Puerto Rico. He is a great instructor and martial artist with numerous accomplishments. Shifu Tom Lugo is completely dedicated to the advancement of his students and works with every one of them individually to help them understand the concepts of what they are learning and their applications in real life scenarios.


(13 of 13 People found this review helpful)

Great concept

Jan 06 2011 by Rob (Active Student with Less than 1 Month Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Chinese martial arts for the modern age!


(14 of 14 People found this review helpful)

Great community Kung Fu program

Jan 04 2011 by Jim Liu (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

It encompasses the most effective techniques, ideology, and training methods of the Traditional Chinese Martial Arts but with modern application in mind.

Write a Review

Martial Arts in Media

Top Martial Arts in Media, Pennsylvania

This Chart shows the Martial Arts Styles offered most in Media, Pennsylvania area. View a list of Dojo in Media, or enter your address below to find schools closest to you.