Find Martial Arts Schools

33,225 Dojos and growing
Helping people find Dojo since 2004
Currently online: 313 Visitors

Follow dojos.info on FacebookFollow dojos.info on Twitter

Reviews of The Bushido School of Karate, Inc.

This page shows Reviews & Testimonials of The Bushido School of Karate, Inc. in White Plains, NY. 23 Reviewer rated The Bushido School of Karate, Inc. as Very Good. Read detailed reviews below.

If you are familiar with this school, please share your experience and help your local Martial Arts community.

Submit your Review

Average Rating: Very Good (23 Reviews)

Quality of Instruction:
Very Good
Other aspects:
Very Good

19 out of 23 Reviewer recommended The Bushido School of Karate, Inc..

A School to build Confidence

Jan 08 2020 by Marie (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My son Steven was six years old when he started training with Sensei Mehrkar. He trained until he was an adult (27). Till today, he has a lot of discipline, respect, strength and motivation. He had reached his 5th degree black belt by the time he left. He left the school to continue his studies and received his medical doctorate as a Physical Therapist. I attribute his success to his martial arts' training with Sensei Mehrkar. He learned how to focus and reach his goals. I think he would have made a great Sensei if he could have continued. Today, he is going to be father to a baby girl. If I had to do a seminar on what Martial Arts can do for any student, I would. Sensei Mehrkar is great!


(0 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Terrible service not to mention the staff has a bad attitude

Jul 25 2017 by Angry customer (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

For an expensive rate and not being able to take your kid more than twice a week even though you're paying its absurd. They have no patience and kick the kids off the matt for stupid reasons instead of correcting them. Big mistake singing a contract with these people. I wouldn't recommend it.


(2 of 6 People found this review helpful)

Protect your children from these people

Jun 20 2015 by D. (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

Horrible place, as soon as my daughter started telling all the horrible things they would do and say to her, I pulled her right out. They don't care about your children and only want to make as much money as they can from you.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

The best teacher that my girl has had

Aug 01 2014 by karate kid (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I love seeing my kid having so much fun and learning how to defend

Herself I love karate


(5 of 8 People found this review helpful)

Bushido is quality, excellence & compassion

Jan 06 2014 by Sensei C. Werdal (Active Student with 10+ Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

It never surprises me that haters need to remain anonymous, and rarely know their facts. As co-owner of The Bushido School of Karate I can tell you that while everyone is entitled to an opinion, libelous remarks are very dangerous. And shame on you editors of Dojo Locator; your "flag as inappropriate" button does not work. Let me tell you that Shihan Shahin Mehrkar and I have devoted most of our lives to learning and teaching Martial Arts, improving and changing lives, being positive role models and influencing others to do the same. Unfortunately, when you are leader of the pack the other dogs can only bite you in the ass. Nip and yap all you want - cowards never confront face-to-face - but be warned, kharma is like a powerful spinning back that you never saw coming. It'll take your breath away. Osu, Sensei Cheryl Werdal


(2 of 6 People found this review helpful)

Terrible

Nov 15 2013 by dem19 (Former Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
Yes

He is terrible as a teacher. He is too tough and is insane. He thinks that everyone will get beaten up in the outside world.


(1 of 6 People found this review helpful)

I regret joining

Oct 02 2013 by ****a (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

He is terrible and not clear. It's not worth the expensive rates. I regret joining everyday. I can't quit because of the contract. He is a terrible instructor.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Caring, True Martial Art Trained Teachers who care and work with each student

Sep 04 2013 by me (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

1


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Caring, True Martial Art Trained Teachers who care and work with each student

Sep 04 2013 by me (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

1


(2 of 3 People found this review helpful)

Thank you

May 07 2013 by NG (Parent of a Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Bushido School brought my daughter out of her shell. She was shy, didn't defend herself, and often bothered by the same girls. She was just six when we stumbled upon Bushido, she is now 11 1/2. She works hard, and has learned not to quit for not passing her first three black belt tests, it only made her stronger. She came full circle and passed the test with such confidence, I couldn't have been any prouder. She doesn't hold back now, she speaks her mind for herself and for others that can't. She is a stronger and more confindent than she was when she first started. They instilled that and so much more in her, and I want to thank everyone at Bushido for that! She will have the tools and skills of what she learned to last her a lifetime!


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Dedication, Focus, and Heart

Mar 20 2013 by GJSchaller (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I am a middle aged man (40 at this time) that has attended various schools, in various arts, over the course of my lifetime. This being said, I have been to my fair share of both good and bad schools over the past 20 years. I stopped actively practicing 10 years ago after a disappointing experience at a school in another city, before I moved to White Plains.

After being told by my doctor I needed to start exercising again, I decided to look at nearby schools. I walked into Bushido Karate, and one of the staff members immediately greeted me in a polite fashion, and asked if he could help me without being overbearing or throwing a hard sales pitch.

The school was clean, well organized, and in good shape. The school does not display trophies or awards, but instead shows photos of the students helping out in community organizations, and other accomplishments that show the true character of the school. To this school, personal character is more important than winning a medal, which I like. Tournaments are available for those who wish to participate, but are not mandatory.

Having signed up and been a student for over two years now, I can say I am very happy I have done so. The instructors are tough, but kind, and push you to excel while also tailoring challenges and instuction to meet a student's needs. Classes are a mix of hard work, fundamental basics, and advanced techniques, with occasional fun thrown in in the form of a game or challenge that furthers a technique.

The school is not afraid to fail someone that does not pass a test, or deserve a belt. This is VERY important - it shows that they actually care, and are not just taking your money without thought of your progress. I would have less respect for someone, and the school, if they were given a rank that they did not earn. It takes a good school to have the courage and character to fail someone. The school is not just a money-making business, it is truly dedicated to the Bushido way, and the community it creates and supports.


(6 of 6 People found this review helpful)

A+ Karate School

Mar 14 2013 by Cin (Parent of a Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Where do I begin? Bushido School of Karate changed my daughter's life in such a positive way. She was extremely shy and was not one to stand up for herself. She began when she was 6 and is now 11, and is a first degree black belt. She possess confidence, she speaks out, she is strong inside and out. She is a true leader. The confidence she now has will follow her throughout life. Thank you Bushido School of Karate!


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Truly the best of the best.

Feb 17 2013 by Lee Jun-fan (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I have trained in an array of schools, constantly looking for the best schools for my family and I. When I think about what I felt when I found this school, speechless. This school has literally saved my life. It is like another home for my family and I and has changed my life for the better. It is worth every penny and my only regret is not finding it sooner. With great students and even better instructors, Bushido Karate is truly the best of the best. I have visited and trained in schools who call them self "top notch" or believe they are the best because they are a franchise; the only response I have for that is try it for yourself. There is no other school like the Bushido School of Karate.


(1 of 12 People found this review helpful)

Really?

Feb 17 2013 by K M (Former Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

Beware of money-grabbing tactics. Get trained elsewhere. You can find just as good an instructor - if not better - for less money and in a better facility.

Also, run if this guy's brother comes around. He was convicted of child molesting.


(5 of 5 People found this review helpful)

Bushido changed my life for the better

Jan 20 2013 by K.Koller (Former Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I was Shihan Mehrkar's student for close to 10 years and through his training, I have learned to be respectful, loyal and strong minded. Sensei Mehrkar never expects anything less than 100% from his students; and when you are giving it everything you got, he asks for 110%. After every class, you leave with your uniform covered in sweat but you feel great nonetheless. At the end of my training, I became a 2nd Degree Black Belt and decided to leave Bushido to pursue college and other opportunities for future careers. But I will never forget what I learned at the Bushido School of Karate. Sensei Mehrkar will forever be the greatest teacher I have ever had the pleasure of having. He teaches you self defense but he also teaches you life lessons. Bushido changed my life for the better and I couldn't be more grateful.


(3 of 3 People found this review helpful)

There is NOTHING like it.

Dec 12 2012 by example: Q Smitto (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I've been to numerous martial arts schools, nothing could ever match to this place. Sure there are plenty of other schools that are probably excellent too but this school is one of the best I've been too. If you're skeptical about this comment. Try it out yourself. See how you like it.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Family Training Excellence

Dec 01 2012 by Penn State Fordes (Former Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My whole family trained under Shihan Mehrkar for 10 yrs acheiving 1st and 2nd degree Black Belts. We've moved away and now live in PA,TX, and NC. Bushido is forever part of our identity. Many students met on the mat are life-long freinds. Shihan, to this day,has a place of honor {picture} on our walls.


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Excellence

Nov 16 2012 by formerstudent (Parent of a Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Only way to describe Bushido Karate is "Excellence". They expect 100% from the students and give 110 %


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Excellent Experience

Nov 12 2012 by S Knowles (Parent of a Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

This has been an excellent experience for my son, he has studied Karate and worked his way up to his Second Degree Black Belt and has attended the After School Program and the Summer Camp and it has been an excellent experience for him and I. The owners and staff are excellent there.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Amazing school of Karate

Aug 30 2012 by karatemom (Parent of a Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I searched and searched for a martial arts school for my children, after visiting and observing many, many different schools and instructors I discovered Shihan Mehrkar. He was unlike any instructor I had seen, not only a truly amazing martial artist, but an amazing instructor with the ability to work brilliantly with children (and adults), upholding the highest standards and inspiring students (regardless of ability) to do their best. He makes karate fun, an exciting challenge, and cultivates the discipline, values, focus, and techniques that ultimately serve to distinguish a superior karate student from the rest. Ultimately, I (in my 40s) decided to join, and together my boys and I eventually achieved black belts. I continue to train, and can't recommend this school more highly.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

A parent's dream

Aug 27 2012 by Jane (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I love Bushido. The instructors are amazing, and it has done wonders for my children and greatly changed their lives by making them more focused and disciplined allowing them to become better students in school.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

A parent's dream

Aug 27 2012 by Jane (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I love Bushido. The instructors are amazing, and it has done wonders for my children and greatly changed their lives by making them more focused and disciplined allowing them to become better students in school.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Authentic and real karate

Aug 24 2012 by KenpoJoe (Former Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

I haven't trained in years but remember when they were in Thornwood, NY. Sensei Mehrkar was a top-notch instructor then and I'm sure he still is. No comparison near by. That's been my experience.

Write a Review

Martial Arts in White Plains

Top Martial Arts in White Plains, New York

This Chart shows the Martial Arts Styles offered most in White Plains, New York area. View a list of Dojo in White Plains, or enter your address below to find schools closest to you.