Find Martial Arts Schools

32,524 Dojos and growing
Helping people find Dojo since 2004
Currently online: 575 Visitors

Follow dojos.info on FacebookFollow dojos.info on Twitter

Reviews of America's Best Karate East Coast

This page shows Reviews & Testimonials of America's Best Karate East Coast in Manheim, PA. 14 Reviewer rated America's Best Karate East Coast as Average. Read detailed reviews below.

If you are familiar with this school, please share your experience and help your local Martial Arts community.

Submit your Review

Average Rating: Average (14 Reviews)

Quality of Instruction:
Average
Other aspects:
Average

4 out of 14 Reviewer recommended America's Best Karate East Coast.

(2 of 4 People found this review helpful)

FMA = FAKE MARTIAL ARTS

Jan 04 2016 by CHorst (Former Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

Yes, America's Best Karate is now FUSION Martial Arts. The Irelands decided to ditch all of their former students and reinvent themselves. I guess that certificate and belt I have is even more worthless than before. It's obvious that these people are just trying to make a quick buck by printing their own certifications and taking advantage of people who don't know any better. The fact is, The Irelands have never gotten themselves certified to teach TaeKwonDo or Hapkido or Kumdo. My advice is to stay away from these people's part-time hobby.


(5 of 6 People found this review helpful)

Now FUSION MARTIAL ARTS

Dec 29 2015 by PeopleofManheim (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

One thing about changing your name and location every 3 years, you can avoid negative reviews. ABKEC is now Fusion Martial arts. They packed up and left Manheim with no warning. The students were left hanging. The poor kids that just completed testing now find that their certificates are completely worthless. I'm sure it's not much effort for the Ireland's to change a name on their FAKE certificates using Printshop, but they should have thought of the kids and former students that are now holding worthless ABKEC certificates. It's obvious that this is not a real school. I only hope the owners of Fusion figure out the Ireland's game before too many kids get burned by their scam.


(4 of 5 People found this review helpful)

Just an excuse for a grown man to walk around in pajamas.

Dec 21 2015 by DojoDad (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

Don't give these people your money. The MA instruction is for children not adults. Even for children, this place is inadequate. They promote anybody just so they can make money. Not to mention the place is embarrassing to be in. I feel like it used to be a pawn shop or something. Not exactly a premier school.


(6 of 7 People found this review helpful)

Not at Universal Athletic club anymore.

Dec 13 2015 by jjwatts (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

They are in Manheim and it's a joke. The head instructor is fat and demands you yell out "Yes Sir" "No Sir". Like they're trying to be the Cobra-Kai. After talking to some of the other parents, I took my son out of the program. As a martial arts program, they don't offer anything worthwhile and the kids don't look like they having any fun. I just hope the big instructor doesn't have a medical issue in front of the kids.


(7 of 8 People found this review helpful)

I can't believe he started his own school

Dec 11 2015 by waldschmidt.jr (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

I trained with Gary in San Jose, CA. He was just out of the Navy and had a little weight to him. I don't remember him ever getting a black belt from America's best Karate. When I heard that he opened up his own Dojo on the East Coast, I was shocked. He actually had a website promoting himself as having studied everything from Hapkido, to Shaolin Long Fist. I don't think he would have had the time. Incredible ! To not offend anyone, he then said that he created his own system. So he is the master of his own system, , (that's good to know). For the record. .. this man has no affiliation with America's Best Karate.


(7 of 8 People found this review helpful)

No self defense training taught here

Dec 10 2015 by NenaFox (Former Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

BTW, I agree with the other comments regarding this schools credentials. Gary and Janine are nice people. I've known them for several years. But even they have to admit they are not teaching a practical self-defense. They offer a good exercise program, that is basically just calisthenics and approx 10 TaeKwonDo forms, which Gary altered for some unknown reason. There is no Hapkido. Kumdo was added a few years ago after Janine read a book. I would rank this school as an expensive baby sitting service. Actually, this school might not be in business anymore. They took their facebook and website down. I wish them well, but I would never recommend them for martial arts training.


(8 of 8 People found this review helpful)

Not a self-defense class, not an exercise class. So what is it ?

Dec 03 2015 by kungpow (Former Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

Imagine if someone decided to invent their own martial arts program. . and call it TaeKwonDo. That's what this is. Although they are very nice people, this is not a real martial arts program. Any certificates you receive are created on a laptop with photoshop, For the record, TaeKwonDo, Hapkido and Kumdo are from Korea. Karate is from Japan. This school is neither. It has no real affiliation with . . well . .. anything. It's as if they picked up a book and decided to start a Dojang. The Irelands have played this martial arts game on Lancaster for a long time because there really isn't any enforcement of MA ethics. Virtually anyone can open up a DoJang and teach JOE'S KARATE. The real tragedy is students who worked hard for nothing.


(8 of 9 People found this review helpful)

Unaccredited.. Mom and Pop shop

Dec 02 2015 by josie (Former Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

Don't waist your time. There are better places for less money. ABKEC is a mom and pop shop. Created by a former mediocre black belt from the defunct America's best karate in San Jose, who obviously watched too many kung fu movies. Your degree will be worth as much as the paper it's printed on, because it's not affiliated with any central association or higher ranking organization. ABKEC has been kicked out of the Universal Athletic Club and is replaced by an official, accredited school. You can find them in Manhiem in a strip mall behind the Dollar Store. Here's a tip, watch the movie "The Foot Fist Way" before going,


(2 of 9 People found this review helpful)

A wonderful place to study martial arts

Jul 01 2012 by Dojomama (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Learning martial arts with the Ireland's has changed my life for the better. I am proud to be a member of this martial arts family.


(2 of 7 People found this review helpful)

A wonderful place to study martial arts

Jul 01 2012 by Dojomama (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Learning martial arts with the Ireland's has changed my life for the better. I am proud to be a member of this marital arts family.


(2 of 8 People found this review helpful)

Great School for Families

Jun 30 2012 by N/A (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Good
Recommended:
Yes

Quality dojo in Manheim for all skill levels. My whole family studies with these instructors; they are experienced martial artists and caring people. The curriculum is a combination of taekwondo and hapkido that teaches practical and challenging techniques for both sport karate and personal self-defense. The students have fun while getting into fighting shape. Check it out.


(2 of 8 People found this review helpful)

The best place to study martial arts - the instructors really care!

Jun 30 2012 by Kicking Kid (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Classes are always fun even when they are hard and the instructors take the time to get to know you.


(8 of 9 People found this review helpful)

Not Accredited

May 30 2012 by N/A (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Good
Recommended:
No!

Unfortunately this school is not connected to a true accreditation. Also, some of the certifications listed on their website simply are not true. Very disappointing.


(8 of 10 People found this review helpful)

ABKEC

May 08 2012 by ABKEC (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

Unprofessional.

Write a Review

Martial Arts in Manheim

Top Martial Arts in Manheim, Pennsylvania

This Chart shows the Martial Arts Styles offered most in Manheim, Pennsylvania area. View a list of Dojo in Manheim, or enter your address below to find schools closest to you.