Find Martial Arts Schools

32,660 Dojos and growing
Helping people find Dojo since 2004
Currently online: 295 Visitors

Follow dojos.info on FacebookFollow dojos.info on Twitter

Reviews of Aikido School of Self Defense

This page shows Reviews & Testimonials of Aikido School of Self Defense in cheektowaga, NY. 9 Reviewer rated Aikido School of Self Defense as Very Good. Read detailed reviews below.

If you are familiar with this school, please share your experience and help your local Martial Arts community.

Submit your Review

Average Rating: Very Good (9 Reviews)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent

8 out of 9 Reviewer recommended Aikido School of Self Defense.

(1 of 3 People found this review helpful)

Shihan Phelps and this style of AIKIDO has changed my life!

Nov 17 2015 by No excuses here (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

First before I give you my review, I want to make it very clear!! Shihan, does not push his faith onto his students. I am a Buddhist and he respects my practice!! So, it doesn't sound like you went to a better dojo, it sounds like you quit and needed an excuse to justify your lack of effort! He talks about what's important to him and there is nothing wrong with talking about his life to his students! He is the best teacher I've ever been around. He is a perfectionist and is very thorough! It's a combination of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and Aikido! This is strictly for the streets! Not cage fighting. Each move YOU learn is designed to do damage to the attacker by a joint lock (ex. Breaking the wrist), a choke or a devastating throw! It also has a full striking curriculum! This is as good as it gets! It's the Navy Seals of the martial arts community!! It's tough, but stay the course and you'll be one of the most well trained martial artists in the world!! This has changed me in and out of the dojo. My self esteem and confidence has risen! Shihan, had made me a better man! He is a great human being and a great Sensei!


A place ideal for self-defence and learning

Oct 29 2015 by NAM (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Shihan Jerry. R Phelps combines Nihon goshin aikido and Brazilian Jiu-jitsu into one curriculum of self defence as well as striking from Ishuun-ryu karate. I was looking for a striking or a grappling school during my search for an ideal place to study martial arts. Not only you get more than what you're looking for, but learn to defend yourself and learn something there new everyday. I suggest this to those in search of a good school to study. This is also good if you want to go into the police force.


Very well rounded martial arts curriculum

Oct 24 2015 by S. McCarthy (Active Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I have been training with Shihan Phelps for almost 10 years and have found him to be very dedicated to learning and expanding his base of knowledge for his own system. Shihan Phelps' system is good for law enforcement personnel, as it employs defensive techniques like joint locks, projection throws and balance breaking techniques. Shihan Phelps' ground curriculum is extremely extensive. It goes above and beyond brazilian jiu jitsu, as Shihan Phelps is constantly researching new techniques from other schools. His advanced grappling class is a must and even beginner students can learn advanced techniques. I have used his techniques, both stand up and on the ground, in my profession to keep myself safe and the person who is attacking me from getting injured. I would highly recommend to anybody interested in learning martial arts or anyone in law enforcement, security, etc.


(3 of 5 People found this review helpful)

Is this a aikido dojo or church

Aug 06 2015 by found a better school (Former Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Good
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

Great school for aikido instructions but Phelps likes to push his religion on you. Talking about God is fine and good but not when you intend on strictly talking about aikido and focusing on what you have to do in his class. Nobody wants to feel like God is judging them while they're doing a hip throw. Very knowledgeable in his art but pushes people away with his constant harping on religion like he's on a pulpit. How can you criticize your students about not being Godly when we're here to train. We're here for aikido not a baptism.


No nonsense martial arts

Jun 25 2015 by Peter E. (Active Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Shihan Jerry R. Phelps teaches Nihon Goshinjutsu Aikido which is Shihan Phelps's own style he developed incorporating techniques of Nihon Goshin Aikido, Isshin-ryu Karate and Jiu-Jitsu. The aikido involves joint locks and projection throws, the karate provides the striking and the jiu-jitsu brings the grappling element to round out a martial art that, by uniting all the above, provides maximum flexibility to handle any attack situation. Shihan Phelps teaches his students that it is best not to fight but, if it is unavoidable, it is best to end it quickly and decisively. If conflict is unavoidable, it is best to stay on one's feet but, if that is not possible, one must know how to handle one's self on the ground as well. Thus all three components come together in the martial art he has developed into a cohesive whole best suited to handle any possible attack or combination of attacks.


This is real hardcore aikido

Jun 24 2015 by S oughterson (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Not only is the most realistic hardcore aikido that I have ever seen, but it is one of the best martial art that I have ever seen. Their attention to detail is great. Shihan Phelps makes sure that you are ready to defend yourself on the streets.


Great place for adults and children to learn martial arts!

May 02 2014 by D Zak (Parent of a Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My child has been with Shihan Phelps for 6 years. Shihan Phelps is great! Not only has he taught my child aikido and jujitsu, but also confidence and leadership. My youngest child can't wait to join.


A great place to get into shape, physically and mentally!

Dec 14 2013 by Kara (Active Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

What makes this THE BEST martial arts is that YOU WILL LEARN how to defend yourself. What sets this dojo apart from other dojos is that this school does Aikido, Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, knife & gun disarmament. The class hours are great and flexible! The classes are unlimited!!! Shihan Phelps is a great instructor; and the ONLY instructor.


extremely effective and well rounded martial art !!

Dec 08 2013 by Jay M. (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Shihan Phelps has devoted many years studying martial arts,

and has developed a highly effective, well rounded style of Aikido.

This is a great martial art, and Shihan Phelps is a highly skilled

practitioner and teacher. I would highly recommend this school to any-

one who wants to become a skilled martial artist.M

Write a Review

Martial Arts in cheektowaga

Top Martial Arts in cheektowaga, New York

This Chart shows the Martial Arts Styles offered most in cheektowaga, New York area. View a list of Dojo in cheektowaga, or enter your address below to find schools closest to you.